top of page

Disunited, Trump Voters Speak Up


For many of his supporters, the election of Donald Trump as the 45th U.S. President signifies a loss of faith in the federal government and the institutions that advise them. To those who did not vote for Trump, his victory was shocking.

How could Americans, they ask, elect a billionaire with no government experience, someone who demonstrated a level of sexism, racism and bigotry that not long ago would have signaled the death knell of a presidential candidacy?

In the aftermath of the 2016 election, the divisiveness that marked the campaign is now the hallmark of our national discourse. As anti-Trump protests and rhetoric heat up, many Trump voters are feeling the wrath of some of their neighbors, colleagues, friends and family. Many believe that Trump opponents are too quick to paint them with the brush of intolerant bigotry.

In Frederick County, registered Republicans outnumber Democrats by a fairly small margin, 65,905 to 60,747. The fastest growing registrations in the County, however, are unaffiliated voters, with 36,035. Suffice to say that if you live or work in Frederick County, chances are you have neighbors, friends, colleagues or family who did not vote the way you did in 2016. Although that is not an earth-shattering or precedent-setting news, no modern presidential election before 2016 has split us down the middle in such a public and galvanizing manner.

For some Trump supporters, the fallout was eye opening, and not in an expansive or revelatory way. Others have become wary of sharing political views in public forums or private conversations.

Most of us can agree that although we are far apart in our ideologies and vision of America, it’s critical to the health of our nation and our communities that we at least try to understand why we are so divided. I asked Frederick Countians who voted for Trump to share some insights about their choice. I offered them anonymity to ensure that they would be forthright. Some took it, others did not.

Anonymous #1

I had (or so I thought), many Democrat friends. Most have not held back on laying me out, or just unfriended me on Facebook. I am amazed at their outright rudeness.

I was not, and have never been, a Clinton fan. Trump wasn't my first choice. I like that he has cojones, but not so much his personality.

D.C. is a mess. Not everyone wants to pay so much to take care of people who won't work. I am not opposed helping people who can't help themselves, but I'm tired of catering to the minority. What ever happened to common sense, hard work, and accountability?

Several people will say it's the conservatives with the problems. Such hate, such disrespect. And, yet the other choice was squeaky clean? Time to move on.

Anonymous #2

I voted for Trump because I DID NOT want Hillary in office. Abortion and Benghazi are the primary reasons why I voted for the Republican nominee. I DO NOT support abortion

I have many progressive friends and Democrat friends. We are friends because respect is foremost, and I am civil when interacting with those with opposing views.

Cindy Rose

I voted for Donald Trump because Ted Cruz didn't beat him in the primary (I wanted a Constitutionalist).

I voted for Trump because Hillary Clinton meant bigger and bigger government. Maybe it's time for a regular guy (yeah, he's rich, so a sort of regular guy), a non-politician, how about that?

I preferred someone who knows (sort of) what it's like to live under laws and regulations decreed from on high. Ok, so he is rich enough that the laws don't really affect him as much as living under the regulations. At least he lives under enough of them that he knows the suffering that often comes from Washington. I honestly don't think the political class has any clue what it's like outside the bubble. At least Trump's big toe appears to be outside the bubble, which is more than most.

I'm ecstatic about his Supreme Court nominee. I'm OK with his performance so far, it's really too soon for me to judge. His speeches and tweets are often cringe-worthy but I'm beginning to believe it really is shtick designed to appeal to the blue collar worker who came out and voted for him because they too, live under the realities of Big Government.

When you’re pissed off, you want the guy/gal championing you to be pissed off and ready for battle, not getting out the doilies for company. I think Trump has tapped into that more than any other person in America right now. He needs his base to accomplish his agenda, so he's going to do what he needs to keep them with him. Progressives need to stop taking Trump literally; his supporters know not to. This is how friends losing their job of 20 years, sitting around the back yard grill, having a beer, talk. Trump is speaking their language.

I voted for Trump because I believe he will downsize the federal government footprint. That doesn't mean take away same-sex marriage. I hate to break it to progressives, but the majority of conservatives and those who voted for Trump don't care who you marry. We believe the government should keep their nose out of private citizens’ bedrooms. We want "less" government.

Sometimes you and your neighbors have to decide what is best for you in your community. Some things aren't for government to referee. If you don't like the outcome of that decision you have to live with it or move. When you force the government to get involved, the end game is some yutz telling you you can't drink a 28-ounce sugar-laden soft drink.

I'm pretty certain that the majority of Trump supporters just want a job, a decent home in a decent neighborhood with schools they control. It's no more complicated and nefarious than that. It's frustrating to watch your job of 20 years be outsourced to foreign lands while the government focuses on the "greenness" of your light bulb, how much sugar you can consume and which bathroom to use while taxing the rain that lands on your impervious surfaces.

I'm pretty sure we mostly want the same things. We may want to arrive at them differently, but they are still the same goals. Surely we can compromise on "how" we get there? Maybe there should be more discussions over coffee and less protests?

I've lost few friends but that happened before I placed my vote. After they read this, perhaps I'll lose a few more. I hope they will at least look up the word "tolerant" before they unfriend me.

Maybe in four years we'll have learned to vote for more "regular folks" with skin in the game and reject the political ruling class. Say what you want about Trump, he has skin in the game; how many other Presidents have?

Benny Greenberg

Why did Donald Trump get my vote?

Now that is a loaded question, and the answer always seems to lead to a fight. The easy answer to this, and the early answer as well, is I could in no way with good conscience vote for Hillary Clinton, but that is a cop out. I was on the Trump-Train right from the get-go.

Reasons are many, but I will try to sum it up without going KellyAnne Conway on you (meaning the dead air needs not be filled with my voice – all the time).

I have always thought that having a President of our country who is a business person and not a professional politician would bring our country back to its inherent greatness. President Trump was that person.

Having, what could basically be considered the “no-party” candidate was definitely a key part of the puzzle. He is not a Pure Conservative/Republican and he is not a Pure Liberal/Democrat, but if everyone would pay closer attention (on both sides) he exemplifies the traits of both. He is a hybrid-politician, while not being a politician at all– perfectly fit for a country with over 25 years of pure politics in charge of our great country. It has long been time for a change.

I could get into my core values – but that is really not necessary. I will say this – I voted for Trump, and I am not a Xenophobe, Homophobe, Germaphobe or even Garth Phoebus.

I am neither deplorable or unredeemable. I am an American who is tired of all of the “tiny” interest groups and “communities” trying to push an agenda that is all about them or that group (partisanship notwithstanding). We are American-first and then we can subdivide and splinter.

But what I saw, and see now at an alarming rate, is the left has less interest in the country as a whole and more interest in the “what-is-in-it-for-me” stance. We are the UNITED States of America, not the Divided Communities of… ummm... err… Here.

So – if you are left/right/middle or four degrees before top-dead-center - Democrat, Republican, Libertarian or even a member of the original Whig Party, it is time for you to Look towards your country as a whole and stop the “what is in it for me” stance. It is time for [you to ask] “What can I do to heal my country not what can my country do to/for me?”

As for friendships, I will say there are some who will not speak to me, or even acknowledge my rights to vote as I please in this country. If I did not vote their way, or agree with their stance- it by default means I am, and always will be a racist, misogynist, xenophobe, and so on, none of which I am.

Not my choice in the separations – I am, and always will be willing to listen and converse and have dialogue. Unlike the tolerant left – I am actually tolerant and understand the definition of the word. And that definition does not include the words “must agree.”

Anonymous #3

Initially, there were other candidates that caught my eye as a Republican and one who eventually voted for Donald Trump. He was by far not the best candidate in the primary, and there were always questions as to where he stood on numerous issues.

But! Then there was Ms. Clinton, a woman who showed us her cards from previous acts and poor decision-making on national security and pushing for less freedom in her legislative votes. There are some of us that don’t play into the partisan hype, fostering decisions based on record not silly banter about who can do the best research for private gotcha moments.

Moving forward, the first area of criticism that can be considered a threat in Trump’s term of office is his view on marijuana. There was little fodder or much talk about states’ rights when it came to cannabis legislation; there was a lot of hype about heroin.

White House Press Secretary, Sean Spicer has recently announced that federalism will take control back and that states with legalized marijuana will be targets. Now if this isn’t some backwards thinking when it comes to ridding us of opioid dependency, while introducing a non deadly/ non addictive form of medicine. Some are cheering him on, but say it is ok for medicinal purposes.

Whoa now! When you need an aspirin, should you need a doctor to say it’s ok? Why can’t they trust people to determine their level of pain and purchase patches, creams or other methods of relief that actually work? Instead of limiting prescriptions for opioids, why can’t they retrain medical staff to use opioids as a last ditch effort, making cannabis a first method?

Other than reefer, there are no significant criticisms on policy thus far. There has been a lot of resistance, fake tears and just plain goofy arguments that we should just ignore. After all, it is D.C. and none of the career politicians want to lose federal level power.

Hopefully, there will be some better candidates next go around that understand freedom and states’ rights, and who can fulfill their main duty as Commander in Chief. For now, the silent majority wins and both national conventions lose and contrary to the cries of irrevocable damage, the only damage I have seen is by anarchist citizens attaching to fake causes.

If anyone wants to respond to the views expressed here – in a in a thoughtful and mindful manner - please send me an email at thefrederickextra@gmail.com.

bottom of page