top of page

Clagett Polls for Mayor, Senator


If you are a Democrat and live in Frederick city or in legislative District #3, you may have received a call asking you about your choices in two Democratic primary races, including Frederick’s mayoral race and the 2018 state senate race.

Former county commissioner and state delegate Galen Clagett [pictured left] said he paid for the poll, and will have the results by the end of the day today or Monday, June 5. Clagett was defeated in the 2013 Democrat primary race for mayor and later supported Republican incumbent Randy McClement.

The poll asked if you would vote Michael O’Connor, Jennifer Dougherty or Galen Clagett for mayor of the City of Frederick. Both O’Connor and Dougherty have filed to run, but Clagett has not. Filing deadline is July 3, almost a month away.

In District 3, pollers wanted to know if you would vote for Clagett or two-term incumbent Sen. Ron Young. Young’s victories in the conservative district were nail biters until the end, with Young squeaking by in 2010 and 2014.

Gov. Larry Hogan (R) is said to be targeting vulnerable Democratic senators to give him more breathing room on his veto power. The Senate, with 32 Democrats, can vote to override vetos with 29 votes. In the House of Delegates, there are currently 88 Democrats, and the House needs 85 votes to override a veto.

Clagett said the poll will help him make a decision about what to do. Of all his campaigns for public office, he said the 2013 race against Democrat, and now state delegate, Karen Lewis Young, was “the dirtiest and raunchiest” he was ever in.

“I’m not willing to get into that kind of sh_t again and put up with that bullsh_t. I don’t play that way. I have enough on people to break a lot of balls, but it’s not my model,” he said.

Neither Sen. Young, [pictured right] or Del. Karen Young have spoken to Clagett since the mayoral race, Sen. Young said. He doesn’t know what Clagett’s motivation would be in running against an incumbent. Young acknowledged that his seat is at risk, but doesn’t believe that there are any Democrats who have a better shot at keeping a Democrat in the office than he does right now.

“I wasn’t sure if I was going to run again or not, but I don’t see a Dem who can win except for me,” Sen. Young said. “Maybe I can’t win. Who knows? But, I am running and I take nothing for granted. If I have a primary, I will work as hard as I always work. Teachers, unions, and environmentalists are behind me. I run strong in Frederick city.”

Other local Democrats’ names have been bandied about as potential candidates for the senate race, including Del. Carol Krimm, Frederick Alderman Donna Kuzemchak, and Vice President of the Board of Education Elizabeth Barrett. Sen. Young said they may just be interested in laying the groundwork for a run in 2022.

As for the 2018 race, Sen. Young said he has “a winning strategy” laid out for this campaign, and anticipates that there may be “a blue tide” advantage because of Pres. Donald Trump’s election. Either way, he said he knows that his campaign will not be easy if he emerges from the primary.

“There will be a dirty campaign run against me. Word from Annapolis is that they set up some kind of PAC [political action committee] to attack me, and that it’s coming from the Governor,” Sen. Young said.

bottom of page